Nestle Original Shreddies, Nestle Coco Shreddies

Shreddies. I have to admit that I had never taken much notice of this cereal prior to coming to Oxford  to commence my studies. Nestle Shreddies never quite caught my eye in the supermarkets in Singapore; there were tonnes of other options like Waffle Crisp, Cheerios, which you read so much more about online. Also, I couldn’t source the Shreddies maker-equivalent in the States, though I had read that Post used to make a version of it. (More on this at the end)

Nestle Shreddies seem to be a “bare-bones” cereal that no one quite bothers about. You could say that they are analogous to Cheerios, as a “base” cereal, hence the Coco Shreddies and Frosted Shreddies incarnations.

These were offered as an option during college breakfast in my first year, and I usually chose these over the muesli also offered; as these were plain, and I could top it off with some nutella diluted in milk, or with some Honey Sugar provided for the morning porridge.

Enough banter. Let’s get to it. The plain Shreddies will be discussed first; the Coco one later, as they only differ in an aspect or two.

A squarish creature with eyes, a mouth, arms, and legs, jumping in, or out, of your bowl of cereal. That’s what’s on the Nestle Shreddies Box. Clearly targeted towards kids / teens; not exactly marketed as a health food since it doesn’t make huge claims of “Cholestrol-lowering” powers or Fiber.

Nutrition-wise, this cereal is actually decent! The ingredients list shows that you’re essentially eating shredded wheat. So not too different from Shredded Wheat Biscuits; that explains the 4 – 5g of protein you get as well. The amount of sugar isn’t TOO alarming; not like Lion cereal (w/ 13g of sugar per serving!) Or the traditional Cocoa Krispies.

Texture and appearance-wise: you can see the obvious “net” structure; akin to a stiff deep-fryer basket. It’s hard too; as hard as you’d expect any “shredded wheat” cereal to be.


The picture should be able to show you its thickness. This gives it a crunchy, biscuity bite that reminds you of water crackers. They’re dense too; and sink to the bottom of the bowl.


There isn’t a caramelized exterior in the plain Shreddies, nor any shiny / glitzy coating akin to Nestle’s Honey Stars. I think that’s why the next point comes up…

In milk, these turn soggy fairly quickly. 2 to 3 minutes, I’d say. I think they lack the “armour” that some cereal manufacturers employ to keep their creations crunchy even in milk (such as a thick exterior ala Peanut Butter Bumpers). They don’t discolour in milk; which is a good thing I guess – it shows that you really ARE eating a plain, unadulterated wheat masterpiece.

Cardboard. That was my very first thought when I bit into this, soaked in milk, back in my first year. I regretted my choice of this cereal immediately. But; after a second, a third, a fourth, and a fifth bite, it grows on you. I realized this was the taste of wheat, that I had misinterpreted. It was earthy, and dull in a good way.  It was “well-bodied” like a solid 70-85% dark chocolate, or a “thick” Colombian coffee.

I doubt kids would like Nesle Shreddies though. I’m perplexed as to why the box-art is so kiddy-minded.

It’s time we talk about Coco Shreddies. They’re the same as the plain variety, except with a brown coating that’s meant to emulate chocolate.

As you can see from the first picture above- it’s a darker shade of brown here, akin to Koko Crunch, unlike Cocoa Krispies which are slightly lighter coloured. This coating is a sugary-one; it’s ALMOST caramelized as a shell on its, but dissolves quickly in your milk, and loses a fair amount of its colour. 

The brown coating gives it a powdery bite when you eat it dry, but yet retains the original’s texture in milk.

Chocolate-hit? Average. Making it similar to your average chocolate crispy cereal, without any rich dark chocolate hit; but simple. I have to admit – Coco Shreddies nails this chocolate bit in a basic, crave-ending sense. It’s like having Hersheys or Cadbury chocolate – you know what you’re in for, and you appreciate the simplicity.

Nutritionally, Coco Shreddies obviously have more sugar in them then the plain variety,  but it’s a worthwhile addition given the chocolate “add-on” it entails.

That’s that. Nestle Shreddies is something more of us should sample as a healthier cereal alternative. For those in the States, I haven’t been able to source who makes these on your end. Perhaps these exist as Chex? I know Post does these in Canada though.

Give Shreddies a chance.

-The Exercising Male

3 thoughts on “Nestle Original Shreddies, Nestle Coco Shreddies

  1. I love shreddies and so does my nephew (he’s 6) they have a great taste compared to other cardboard, fibre rich cereals (bran flakes, weetabix, crunchy bran). What I advise people todo is always buy the nestle brand and not malted wheats from the supermarket, they just don’t have that additional sweet flavour.

Leave a Reply

